An update yesterday also added Steam trading cards, as well as giving you the option to flick between classic and premium graphics.

Here’s the update page, where they also mention they’re hiring content creator “SalfordSal” to help manage their community and do some streaming. It’s not a huge update, but I can see people getting a kick out of peeking at the impenetrable ASCII versions of their fortresses. There are some bug fixes and minor graphics updates, too.

Caelyn Ellis hailed the game’s newfound accessibility in her Dwarf Fortress review, though still found herself spending half her time on the Wiki:

I’ve been tempted to start some Dwarven dabbling myself, but from the sounds of it I’m still far too likely to bounce away. My plan is to get my Rimworld-adoring partner into it instead, so I can enjoy listening to her shenanigans without putting in any of the work. If that fails, I can always re-read Nate’s Basement Of Curiosity.

You can grab Dwarf Fortress from Steam or Itch.io for £25/$30/€29. If you’re not fussed about the graphics, the free version is still free, and will continue to get updates.